FORT SCOTT COMMUNITY COLLEGE Minutes of the Board of Trustees Training February 21, 2022

4:00 p.m.

PRESENT: John Bartelsmeyer, Dave Elliott, Jim Fewins, Kirk Hart, Bryan Holt, and Robert Nelson ALSO PRESENT: Alysia Johnston, President, Juley McDaniel, Board Clerk, Janet Fancher, Adam Borth Dr. Doug Moeckel of Kansas Association of School Boards presented a training on the fundamentals of being a board member and the role the board serves in the operation of the institution. Chairman Clerk FORT SCOTT COMMUNITY COLLEGE **Minutes of the Board of Trustees Meeting** February 21, 2022 PRESENT: John Bartelsmeyer, Dave Elliott, Jim Fewins, Kirk Hart, Bryan Holt, and Robert Nelson ALSO PRESENT: Alysia Johnston, President, Juley McDaniel, Board Clerk, faculty, staff, and community members Chairman Bartelsmeyer called the meeting to order at 5:32 p.m. in Cleaver-Burris-Boileau Hall. The meeting was opened with the Pledge of Allegiance. **COMMENTS FROM THE CHAIR:** Bartelsmeyer noted the Board had a very nice presentation prior to the meeting from Kansas Association of School Boards about Board responsibilities. Everyone enjoyed it, and it was good discussion. **COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC: None CONSENT AGENDA:** A motion was made by Fewins, seconded by Nelson, and carried by unanimous vote to approve the consent agenda. **ACTION/DISCUSSION ITEMS:** A. A motion was by Hart, seconded by Elliott, and carried by unanimous vote to approve Heartland Coca-Cola as the beverage sales and vending provider on campus for a five-year term. **B.** A motion was made by Elliott, seconded by Nelson, and carried by unanimous vote to approve the 2022-23 academic calendars as provided. **REPORTS:** ADMINISTRATIVE UPDATES: The Board reviewed and heard reports from Gordon Parks, Student Services, Student Affairs, Athletics, Instruction, Finance and Operations, and the President. ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business to come before the Trustees, a motion to adjourn was made at 6:12 p.m. by Nelson, seconded by Elliott, and carried by unanimous vote.

Clerk

Chairman